Mountain biking clothing and equipment

Products

Filters

Availability
Brand
Size
Price
$
$

Max price: $469.00 $

Filters

Availability
Brand
Size
Price
$
$

Max price: $469.00 $

    • Sale
    Ride Concept Shoes Clearance

    RideConcepts - Ride Concept Shoes Clearance

    $ 150.00

    $ 60.00

      Read article
      • Sale
      Ranger Gloves

      Fox Racing - Ranger Gloves

      $ 47.95

      $ 35.99

      • Black
      • Green Camo
      • Dark Shadow
      Read article
      ENDURO D3O® KNEE PADS

      Fox Racing - ENDURO D3O® KNEE PADS

      $ 119.95

      $ 119.95

      • Black
      Read article
    • Featured

      The Epic selection

      View collection
      Gants ridecamp vert

      100% - Ridecamp Gloves

      $ 32.00

      • Army Green
      • Black
      • Red
      • Navy
      Read article
      • Sale
      Speedframe MIPS

      Fox Racing - Speedframe MIPS

      $ 189.95

      $ 93.00

      • Blue
      • Dark maroon
      Read article
      • Sale
      EPIC Short Sleeve Jersey

      Jakroo - EPIC Short Sleeve Jersey

      $ 59.99

      $ 49.99

        Read article
        • Sale
        JERSEY TRAIL

        NF - JERSEY TRAIL

        $ 79.00

        $ 51.35

        • Black
        • Navy
        Read article
        • Sale
        Ranger pants

        Fox Racing - Ranger pants

        $ 164.95

        $ 107.22

        • Black
        • Dark Indigo
        • Bark
        Read article
        • Sale
        Livewire Men's 2023

        RideConcepts - Livewire Men's 2023

        $ 150.00

        $ 83.00

        • Black
        • Blue Smoke
        Read article
        • Sale
        Casque altis noir

        100% - Altis CPSC/CE Black

        $ 130.00

        $ 78.00

        • black
        • blanc
        • camo
        • gris
        Read article
        • Out of stock
        Raceframe root

        Fox Racing - Raceframe root

        $ 149.95

        • Black
        • Dark Shadow Grey
        Read article
        • Sale
        Ranger Short Sleeve Jersey

        Fox Racing - Ranger Short Sleeve Jersey

        $ 69.95

        $ 45.47

        • Dark Maroon
        Read article
        Baseframe Pro SL

        Fox Racing - Baseframe Pro SL

        $ 234.95

        Read article
        CRUX Liner Shorts

        100% - CRUX Liner Shorts

        $ 64.00

        • Black
        Read article
        Wilder Jr MIPS

        Smith - Wilder Jr MIPS

        $ 100.00

        • Black
        • Mandarin
        • Iceberg
        • Purple Pines / Mandrin
        Read article
        ENDURO D3O® ELBOW SLEEVES

        Fox Racing - ENDURO D3O® ELBOW SLEEVES

        $ 99.95

        Read article
        • Sale
        Ranger Shorts

        Fox Racing - Ranger Shorts

        $ 119.95

        $ 65.99

        • Black
        Read article
        • Sale
        Forefront 2 MIPS

        Smith - Forefront 2 MIPS

        $ 290.00

        $ 174.00

        • Matte Moss/Stone
        • Matte Bone Gradient
        • Matte Slate/Fool's Gold/Terra
        Read article
        • Sale
        Express MIPS

        Smith - Express MIPS

        $ 140.00

        $ 112.00

        • Black/Matte cement
        • Matte Cloudgrey
        • Matte Stone
        • Matte Terra
        Read article

      When it comes to mountain biking, come winter or summer, it is important to be well-dressed and properly equipped. What are the ‘musts’ in your biking wardrobe? How should you dress according to season and discipline? Epic Bike Store gives you expert advice on proper dress and equipment.

      What kind of clothing do you need for mountain biking

      Just like you wouldn’t dress the same way to go jogging downtown as you would for a hike, you shouldn’t pick out the same clothing for mountain biking as you would for cycling in urban settings. Instead of focusing on aerodynamics, mountain biking clothing focuses on comfort, ventilation and protection.

      Ventilation and waterproofness are important factors to consider when choosing clothing for adventures far away from the city. As a general rule, you should opt for looser fitting clothing, without picking something too big or wide. In order to avoid friction, it is important not to choose something that is too loose; it is also important to pick flat stitching for the same reason.

      Among different types of equipment for mountain biking, elbow, knee and rib cage protection is also very important, in the event of a fall or collision. Take a look at all of our protective gear that will help keep you safe while biking.

      Technical base layers are also a must: they will not only ensure your comfort on the bike seat, they will also help evacuate humidity.

      You will also need mountain biking shoes, which are both rigid and light, to ensure good stability and better energy transfer while pedalling. Don’t forget protection googles, for sun and debris. Avoid wearing regular sunglasses, as they probably won’t hold as well!

      Among the best mountain biking clothing brands, you will find Fox Racing, 100 %, RideConcepts and Smiths, among others. Do their items have integrated protection? They generally do not: protection equipment will have to be worn underneath your clothing.

      Dress according to season

      No matter the season, wearing breathable clothing is essential.

      Clothing for summer biking consists of a short sleeved t-shirt and a pair of shorts, generally a padded biking short or shorts over a chamois padding. Even if it is hot, you should have a light windbreaker in your bag; better be safe than sorry!

      A windbreaker or raincoat are essential in the spring and fall. For rainy days, you should also have rain pants. When temperatures get colder, you should also opt for warmer gloves and a headband or hat to protect your ears!

      When it comes to mountain biking clothing in the winter, you will need long sleeves, and warmer pants and gloves. Wearing a warm vest that is also waterproof is important, but be careful not to pick a coat that is too hot, as it might cause you to sweat more than you want to.

      Dressing for the terrain

      The steeper the slope and the rougher the trail, the more protection you will need. DH biking is the perfect example: even in the summer, you should opt for long sleeves and pants to cover every inch of your skin, without forgetting protection for your knees, elbows and rib cage.

      Even if it is not always necessary when working your way up a hill, you should bring your protective equipment with you beforehand, and put it on before heading downhill. If you have already had a fall at full speed on a rock, branch or gravel, you know exactly what we’re talking about…

      Don’t forget that your bike will be the first to take the hit. If needed, we offer bicycle repair services.

      If you are heading out on muddy trails, it is essential to have water resistant equipment, which includes your shoes and socks. Choosing the proper helmet and gloves will also depend on the specific terrain and discipline. Make sure that you are properly protected.

      Choosing the right materials and layers

      Clothing for mountain biking is often made from materials like merino wool or synthetic fibers like polyester, elastane or polyamide. The main advantages these materials offer, is the capacity to evacuate humidity and their light weight. Moreover, merino wool eliminates odors and is much appreciated for the comfort it offers.

      Depending on the item of clothing, you might also find mesh for flexibility, or polar fleece lining in winter clothing. The fabric that must be avoided at all costs is cotton, as it becomes soaked with sweat and stays wet for a very long time.

      Given that temperatures vary when riding in the mountain, it is always smart to use layers. The first layer should be one that absorbs humidity well, and over this, you can add a waterproof or wind breaking layer. When it is cold, you can add thermal underwear. The most important thing is to be able to remove or add layers easily, should you need it. When riding a fat bike, you should dress like you would for cross-country skiing or jogging in the winter.

      How can you choose the right size of clothing? Take a look at our size guide or come and try it out in person in Beaupré! We have mountain biking clothing for women and men.

      Expert Advice – How to keep your clothing in tip top shape

      No matter how much you have spent on clothing, you want to make sure that it remains comfortable and looking fresh for your adventures. Given that biking clothing is generally made from delicate fabrics, it is important that you take a look at the washing instructions. Some technical membranes should not be washed in a machine.

      You can generally wash your clothing by hand or in cold water on the delicate cycle, without any fabric softener or bleach. Stitching is placed on the outside and zips should be closed. Mesh laundry bags can help you avoid too much friction between the items of clothing you are washing, which also helps prevent damages.

      When it comes to drying, you can lay your clothing flat to air dry, away from direct sunlight or other sources of heat, in a well ventilated area. Most importantly, do not iron!

      At Epic Bike Store, you will find all of the equipment and clothing you need for your adventures. Would you like to come and have a chat about comfort and performance, or would you like more expert advice? Come and meet with our team of passionate experts in Beaupré!

Vêtements et équipements pour vélo de montagne

Produits

Filtres

Disponibilité
Marque
Taille
Prix
$
$

Prix maximal: $469.00 $

Filtres

Disponibilité
Marque
Taille
Prix
$
$

Prix maximal: $469.00 $

    • Promotion
    souliers Ride Concept Liquidation

    RideConcepts - souliers Ride Concept Liquidation

    150.00 $

    60.00 $

      Read article
      • Promotion
      Gants Ranger

      Fox Racing - Gants Ranger

      47.95 $

      35.99 $

      • Black
      • Green Camo
      • Dark Shadow
      Read article
      Genouillere Enduro D30

      Fox Racing - Genouillere Enduro D30

      119.95 $

      119.95 $

      • Black
      Read article
    • En vedette

      La sélection Epic

      View collection
      Gants ridecamp vert

      100% - Gants Ridecamp

      32.00 $

      • Army Green
      • Black
      • Red
      • Navy
      Read article
      • Promotion
      Speedframe MIPS

      Fox Racing - Speedframe MIPS

      189.95 $

      93.00 $

      • Blue
      • Dark maroon
      Read article
      • Promotion
      Jersey manches courtes EPIC

      Jakroo - Jersey manches courtes EPIC

      59.99 $

      49.99 $

        Read article
        • Promotion
        JERSEY TRAIL

        NF - JERSEY TRAIL

        79.00 $

        51.35 $

        • Black
        • Navy
        Read article
        • Promotion
        Pantalon Ranger

        Fox Racing - Pantalon Ranger

        164.95 $

        107.22 $

        • Black
        • Dark Indigo
        • Bark
        Read article
        • Promotion
        Livewire Men's 2023

        RideConcepts - Livewire Men's 2023

        150.00 $

        83.00 $

        • Black
        • Blue Smoke
        Read article
        • Promotion
        Casque altis noir

        100% - Altis CPSC/CE

        130.00 $

        78.00 $

        • black
        • blanc
        • camo
        • gris
        Read article
        • Promotion
        Ranger Jersey manches courtes

        Fox Racing - Ranger Jersey manches courtes

        69.95 $

        45.47 $

        • Dark Maroon
        Read article
        Baseframe Pro SL

        Fox Racing - Baseframe Pro SL

        234.95 $

        Read article
        Raceframe roost

        Fox Racing - Raceframe roost

        149.95 $

        • Black
        • Dark Shadow Grey
        Read article
        CRUX Liner Shorts

        100% - CRUX Liner Shorts

        64.00 $

        • Black
        Read article
        Wilder Jr MIPS

        Smith - Wilder Jr MIPS

        100.00 $

        • Black
        • Mandarin
        • Iceberg
        • Purple Pines / Mandrin
        Read article
        Coudiere Enduro D30

        Fox Racing - Coudiere Enduro D30

        99.95 $

        Read article
        • Promotion
        Ranger Short

        Fox Racing - Ranger Short

        119.95 $

        65.99 $

        • Black
        Read article
        • Promotion
        Forefront 2 MIPS

        Smith - Forefront 2 MIPS

        290.00 $

        174.00 $

        • Matte Moss/Stone
        • Matte Bone Gradient
        • Matte Slate/Fool's Gold/Terra
        Read article
        • Promotion
        Express MIPS

        Smith - Express MIPS

        140.00 $

        112.00 $

        • Black/Matte cement
        • Matte Cloudgrey
        • Matte Stone
        • Matte Terra
        Read article

      Pour rouler hiver comme été, c’est important de bien choisir ses équipements et vêtements de vélo de montagne. Quelles sont les pièces à avoir absolument dans son garde-robe de vélo ? Comment s’habiller selon la saison et la discipline ? Epic Bike Store te donne ses conseils pour être bien équipé.

      Comment s’habiller pour le vélo de montagne

      Comme on ne s’habillera pas de la même façon pour courir en ville ou pour faire une randonnée, on ne choisira pas les mêmes vêtements de vélo en montagne qu’en ville. Plutôt que se concentrer sur l’aérodynamisme, la tenue pour vélo de montagne mise sur le confort, la respirabilité et la protection.

      La circulation de l’air et l’étanchéité sont des propriétés importantes à aller chercher quand on s’aventure loin de la ville. En règle générale, on va adopter des vêtements plus amples, sans être trop larges. Pour éviter les frottements, attention quand même de ne pas les prendre trop lousses ; privilégie aussi les coutures plates pour la même raison.

      Parmi l’équipement de vélo de montagne, les protections pour les coudes, les genoux et la région thoracique sont aussi importantes en cas de chute ou de collision. Découvre nos protections pour faire du vélo en toute sécurité.

      Les sous-vêtements techniques sont un autre incontournable : ils favorisent non seulement ton confort sur la selle, mais aussi l’évacuation de l’humidité.

      Tu auras aussi besoin de souliers de vélo de montagne, qui sont rigides et légers pour une bonne stabilité et un bon transfert de force, et de lunettes de protection, contre le soleil et les débris. Évite les lunettes de soleil régulières, qui risquent de ne pas tenir aussi bien !

      Parmi les meilleures marques de vêtements pour vélo de montagne, on retrouve entre autres Fox Racing, 100%, RideConcepts et Smiths. Y a-t-il des protections intégrées ? En général non : les protections doivent être portées sous les vêtements.

      En fonction des saisons

      Quelle que soit la saison, porter des vêtements respirants est essentiel.

      Les tenues de vélo de montagne d’été sont composées d’un chandail à manches courtes et d’un short comme un cuissard rembourré ou un short par-dessus un chamois. Même s’il fait chaud, prévois aussi un coupe-vent léger dans ton sac : on n’est jamais trop prudent !

      Le coupe-vent ou l’imperméable sont des essentiels pour l’automne et le printemps. Pour les journées pluvieuses, pensez aussi à avoir des pantalons imperméables. Quand les températures se rafraîchissent, pense à choisir des gants plus chauds et sors le bandeau ou le bonnet pour protéger tes oreilles !

      Pour les tenues de vélo de montagne d’hiver, on passe aux manches longues, aux pantalons et aux gants plus chauds. Porter une veste chaude et imperméable est aussi important, mais attention de ne pas porter un manteau trop chaud, qui risque de te faire suer davantage.

      En fonction du terrain

      Plus la pente est raide et plus le sentier est accidenté, plus il faudra te protéger. Le DH est le parfait exemple : même l’été, privilégie des manches longues et pantalons pour couvrir la surface de la peau, sans oublier les genouillères, coudières et protections thoraciques.

      Même si ce n’est pas toujours nécessaire en montée, tu peux apporter tes protections et les mettre avant de descendre les sentiers. Si tu es déjà tombé à pleine vitesse sur une roche, une branche ou du gravier, tu sais de quoi on parle…

      On rappelle que les vélos sont les premiers à souffrir lors des sorties. Si tu en as besoin, on t’offre nos services de réparation de vélos.

      Si le terrain est plutôt boueux, avoir un équipement résistant à l’eau est essentiel, incluant les souliers et bas. Le choix du casque et des gants varie aussi selon le type de terrain et de discipline : assure-toi d’être correctement protégé.

      Le choix des matériaux et des couches

      Les vêtements pour cyclistes de montagne sont souvent faits de matériaux comme la laine de mérinos ou de fibres synthétiques comme le polyester, l’élasthanne ou le polyamide. Le principal avantage de ces matières, c’est leur évacuation de l’humidité et leur légèreté. Le mérinos élimine les odeurs et est apprécié pour son confort.

      Selon les pièces, on pourra entre autres retrouver du mesh pour la flexibilité ou des doublures polaires dans les vêtements d’hiver. Le tissu à éviter à tout prix : le coton, qui devient trempé de sueur et reste mouillé longtemps.

      Comme les températures sont variables en montagne, la superposition est toujours un choix gagnant. On commence par une couche qui absorbe l’humidité, et on poursuit avec un imperméable ou un coupe-vent. Quand il fait froid, on peut ajouter des sous-vêtements thermiques. L’important, c’est de pouvoir retirer ou ajouter des couches facilement au besoin. En fatbike, on s’habille un peu comme en ski de fond ou pour courir l’hiver.

      Comment choisir la bonne taille de vêtements ? Consulte nos guides de taille ou passe les essayer en magasin à Beaupré ! On a des vêtements de vélo de montagne pour femmes et pour hommes.

      Conseils d’experts – l’entretien de vos vêtements

      Quel que soit le prix payé pour tes vêtements, tu veux qu’ils restent beaux et confortables pour tes sorties. Comme ce sont souvent des tissus délicats, il faut d’abord regarder les instructions fournies pour le lavage. Certaines membranes techniques ne doivent pas être mises à la laveuse.

      En général, tu pourras laver les tissus à la main ou les laver à l’eau froide, à délicat, sans assouplissant ni eau de javel. Les coutures sont placées à l’extérieur, et les fermetures éclair sont fermées. Les sacs de lavage en filet peuvent t’aider pour éviter que certains vêtements se frottent et s’abîment.

      Pour le séchage, tu peux les étendre dans un lieu à l’abri du soleil et d’autres sources de chaleur, dans un lieu bien ventilé. Le fer à repasser est lui aussi interdit.

      Chez Epic Bike Store, trouve tout l’équipement et les vêtements nécessaires pour tes sorties. Tu veux jaser confort et performance ou recevoir des conseils ? Viens rencontrer notre équipe à Beaupré !